Council committees

We have a range of committees to exercise Council powers, advise Council on specific issues and services, or manage Council assets.

Delegated committees

Delegated committees exercise powers, duties and functions of Council on its behalf. Membership of a delegated committee must include at least two Councillors and the committee must be chaired by a Councillor.

Current delegated committees of Council include:

Advisory committees

Advisory committees help plan and develop services across specific areas of Council. Members are volunteers and committees may be a mix of residents, industry/sector specialists, Councillors and Council officers. 

Occasionally we establish internal advisory committees/working groups comprising solely of Councillors and officers to pursue specific issues.

The purpose of advisory committees is to: 

  • advise on program development and policy direction
  • provide information to Councillors
  • comment on issues relating to their area of expertise
  • develop and support committee members’ skills
  • develop partnerships between Councillors, participants and Council.

Current committees involving external people include:

Community asset committees

Community asset committees are established by Council for the purpose of managing a community asset in the shire. They operate under instruments of delegation from the CEO and are established under Section 65 of the Local Government Act 2020. We currently have no community asset committees.