

# **Minutes**

Council Meeting
Tuesday 21 November 2023 at 11am
Gisborne Administration Centre
40 Robertson Street, Gisborne



## Order of business

1	Acknowledgement of Country	3
2	Recording of live streaming of this Council meeting	3
3	Present	3
4	Apologies	3
5	Conflicts of interest	3
6	Duration of Mayoral Term	3
7	Election of Mayor	4
8	Office and Duration of Deputy Mayor	4
9	Flection of Deputy Mayor	Δ

#### 1 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

Macedon Ranges Shire Council acknowledges the Dja Dja Wurrung, Taungurung and Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Peoples as the Traditional Owners and Custodians of this land and waterways. Council recognises their living cultures and ongoing connection to Country and pays respect to their Elders past, and present.

Council also acknowledges local Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander residents of Macedon Ranges for their ongoing contribution to the diverse culture of our community.

#### 2 RECORDING OF LIVE STREAMING OF THIS COUNCIL MEETING

This meeting was recorded and streamed live on the internet in accordance with Council's 'Live Streaming and Publishing Recordings of Meetings Policy, which can be viewed on Council's website.

#### 3 PRESENT

Cr Annette Death, Cr Jennifer Anderson, Cr Dominic Bonanno, Cr Rob Guthrie, Cr Geoff Neil, Cr Janet Pearce, Cr Mark Ridgeway, Cr Bill West, Cr Christine Walker

#### IN ATTENDANCE

Bernie O'Sullivan (Chief Executive Officer), Adele Drago-Stevens (Director Corporate), Rebecca Stockfeld (Director Planning and Environment), Shane Walden (Director Assets and Operations), Maria Weiss (Director Community), Patricia Clive (Coordinator Governance), Lucy Olson (Senior Governance Officer - Council Business), Lauren Wall (Manager Communications), Cindy Stevens (Business Support Officer)

## 4 APOLOGIES

Nil

## 5 CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Nil

#### 6 DURATION OF MAYORAL TERM

### **MOTION**

## Resolution 2023/132

Moved: Cr Mark Ridgeway Seconded: Cr Jennifer Anderson

That Council resolves to determine that the term of office of the Mayor will be for one year term.

CARRIED

#### 7 ELECTION OF MAYOR

Chief Executive Officer, Bernie O'Sullivan, invited nominations for the office of the Mayor for 2023-2024.

Cr West nominated Cr Death for the office of the Mayor which was seconded by Cr Guthrie.

Cr Death accepted the nomination.

Cr Ridgeway nominated Cr Pearce for the office of the Mayor which was seconded by Cr Bonanno.

Cr Pearce accepted the nomination.

No further nominations were received and the CEO called for a vote.

Cr Death received 5 votes and Cr Pearce received 4 votes.

As Cr Death received an absolute majority of votes she was elected to the position of Mayor.

## 8 OFFICE AND DURATION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

#### **MOTION**

#### Resolution 2023/133

Moved: Cr Mark Ridgeway Seconded: Cr Dominic Bonanno

That Council resolves to elect a Deputy Mayor for a one year term in accordance with section 20(A) and section 26 (3) of the Local Government Act 2020.

CARRIED

## 9 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Mayor Death, invited nominations for the office of the Deputy Mayor for 2023-2024.

Cr Guthrie nominated Cr Anderson for the office of the Deputy Mayor which was seconded by Cr West.

Cr Anderson accepted the nomination.

Cr Bonanno nominated Cr Pearce for the office of the Deputy Mayor which was seconded by Cr Ridgeway.

Cr Pearce accepted the nomination.

No further nominations were received and the Mayor called for a vote.

Cr Anderson received 4 votes and Cr Pearce received 5 votes.

As Cr Pearce received an absolute majority of votes she was elected to the position of Deputy Mayor.

The meeting closed at 11:35am.

The minutes of this meeting will be confirmed at the Council Meeting held on Wednesday 13 December 2023.