Small Project Grants

Overview

Please note: Small Project Grants were previously known as the Small Community Grant Scheme.

Small Project Grants support community programs and initiatives that benefit residents of the Macedon Ranges Shire and help achieve Council Plan goals.

The aim of the program is to support:

They are open throughout the year, except during the caretaker period in the lead up to a Council election.

Who can apply?

Incorporated, community-based not-for-profit groups, and non-government and government schools (as long as the purpose is outside the normal responsibilities of the school and the Victorian Government) may submit an application.

What type of project?

There must be a clear link between your grant application and the priorities in the Council Plan.

Small Project Grants are not designed to support ongoing projects. Applicants should demonstrate a self-sustainable funding model for activities/projects that will create income to support ongoing costs ie infrastructure maintenance, continuing service provision.

Funding cannot be used for political purposes.

Please read the Small Project Grants guidelines(PDF, 652KB) before submitting a grant application.

How much?

There is a pool of $30,000 for 2018/2019, with groups able to apply for a grant of up to $1500. Your community group can only receive one Small Project Grant per financial year.

What is the application process?

Applications are:

  • assessed three weeks prior to an Ordinary Council meeting. All applicants receive an automated email acknowledging successful submission, and then a subsequent email confirming when their application will be considered.
  • assessed based on responses provided in the application form, and against the criteria in the guidelines.
  • scored and then presented to Council for review and/or approval. Applicants will be notified of success or otherwise in writing.

How to apply and more information

Please complete the application form at least three weeks before the next Ordinary Council Meeting to be considered.

Meeting date Submit application by 
Wednesday 24 October 2018 Friday 28 September
Wednesday 28 November 2018   Friday 2 November
Wednesday 19 December 2018 Friday 23 November
Wednesday 27 February 2019 Friday 1 February
Wednesday 27 March 2019  Friday 1 March
Wednesday 24 April 2019 Friday 29 March
Wednesday 22 May 2019  Friday 26 April 
Wednseday 26 June 2019 Friday 31 May 

 

For more information, contact Council’s Governance Administration Officer via tcampbell@mrsc.vic.gov.au or (03) 5422 0320.